ERIC Policy Conference Past Speakers

ERIC Policy Conferences feature a mix of speakers, including Members of Congress, top agency officials, senior advisors, and policy experts. The conferences also features large employer plan sponsors.

Here is a partial list of notable speakers from recent conferences:

Members of Congress and Public Officials

U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)
U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
U.S. Senator Kent Conrad (D-ND)
U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
U.S. Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) 
U.S. Congresswoman Donna Shalala (D-FL)
U.S. Congressman Tim Walberg (R-MI)

René Garcia, Miami-Dade County Commissioner (R-District 13)

Virginia State Delegate Elizabeth Guzman (D-31) – General Assembly Committee on Labor and Commerce Member; General Assembly Committee on Health, Welfare and Institutions Member

California State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-19) – Joint Legislative Committee on Emergency Management Vice Chair; Senate Labor, Public Employment and Retirement Committee Member

Mike Kreidler, Washington State Insurance Commissioner

Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, Maryland’s first female Lt. Governor and founder of the Georgetown University Center for Retirement Initiatives 

Colorado State Senator Faith Winter (D-24) – Majority Caucus Chair; Senate Health and Human Services Committee Vice-Chair

Federal Regulatory Agency Officials

Jeffrey Anderson, Director, Office of Health Reform, U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services 
Phyllis Borzi, Assistant Secretary of Labor at the U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration
Kyle Brown, Division Counsel for the IRS
Katika Floyd, Senior Human Resources Specialist, U.S. Office of Personnel Management
Nicholas Geale, Acting Solicitor for the Department of Labor and Chief of Staff, Secretary Acosta, U.S. Department of Labor
Mark Irwy, Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury and Deputy Assistant Secretary for Retirement and Health Policy at the U.S. Treasury Department
Judy Mares, Employee Benefits Security Administration Deputy Assistant Secretary at the Department of Labor
Rob Neis, Benefits Tax Counsel, Department of Treasury
Karen Onyeije, Associate General Counsel, Federal Communications Commission
Jim Paretti, Special Assistant to Commissioner Victoria A. Lipnic, Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Tom Reeder, PBGC Director
Amber Rivers, Office Director of the Office of Health Plan Standards and Compliance Assistance, Department of Labor
Preston Rutledge, Assistant Secretary of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA), United States Department of Labor
Carol Weiser, Acting Benefits Tax Counsel, U.S. Treasury Department

Congressional Staff

Nolan Ahern, Professional Staff Member, House Committee on Ways and Means
George Callas, Senior Tax Counsel to Speaker of the House Paul Ryan (R-WI)
Kate Cassling, Legislative Assistant, Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Melanie Anne Egorin, Democratic Deputy Staff Director, Subcommittee on Health, Committee on Ways and Means in the U.S. House of Representatives
Elizabeth Darnall, Health Policy Advisor, U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Kara Getz, Chief Counsel, House Ways and Means Committee
Carries Hughes, Director of Health Policy, House Education and Labor Committee
Reily Inman, Legislative Assistant, Office of Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
Kendra Isaacson, Senior Pensions Counsel, Senate Health Education, Labor & Pensions Committee, Minority Staff
Danielle Janowski, Legislative Assistant, Senator John Thune (R-SD)
Matt Kazan, Senior Health Advisor, U.S. Senate Committee on Finance (Ranking Member Ron Wyden (D-OR))
Hazen Marshall, Policy Director, Office of Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Ted McCann, Assistant to the Speaker for Policy, Office of House Majority Leader Paul Ryan (R-WI)
Aisling McDonough, Health Legislative Assistant, Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Kevin McDermott, Senior Labor Policy Advisor, House Committee on Education and Labor
Katherine Monge, Tax Policy Advisor, Office of House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
Mary Moody, Health Legislative Assistant, Office of Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
Payson Peabody, Tax Counsel, House Ways and Means Committee
Julia Prus, Tax Legislative Assistant, U.S. Senator James Lankford (R-OK)
Martin Reiser, Legislative Counsel, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Ron Storhaug, Tax and Economic Policy Advisor, Senate Small Business and Entrepreneurship Committee
Dr. Karen Summar, Health Policy Director, U.S. Senate Committee on Finance (Chairman Chuck Grassley (R-IA))
Landon Zinda, Staff Co-Chair Congressional Blockchain Caucus, Deputy Legislative Director for Representative Tom Emmer (R-MN)

Policy Experts

Melinda Abrams, Vice President, Delivery System Reform, The Commonwealth Fund
Amy Bassano, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation
Joanna Blotner, Campaign Manager, DC Paid Family Leave Campaign
Adam Brackemyre, Vice President of State Government Relations, Self-Insurance Institute of America, Inc.
Benjamin Brown, Founder & CEO, Association of Young Americans
Jennifer Bryant, Senior Vice President of Policy and Research, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) 
James Capretta, Senior Fellow, Ethics and Public Policy Center; Visiting Fellow, American Enterprise Institute 
Stan Collender, Leading Authority on the U.S. budget 
Danielle Corley, Research Associate, Women’s Economic Policy, Center for American Progress (CAP)
Karen Friedman, Executive Vice President, Pension Rights Center
Alexander Hendrie, Director of Tax Policy, Americans for Tax Reform
Julian Hoffman, Senior Government Affairs Manager, National Safety Council
Bret Jackson, President, Economic Alliance for Michigan
Chris Jennings, Health Policy Advisor to Hillary Clinton and Deputy Assistant to Presidents Obama and Clinton
Alex Khachaturian, Director, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
Matthew Magner, Director, State Government Affairs, National Community Pharmacists Association
Charles (Chip) Kahn III, President & Chief Executive Officer, Federation of American Hospitals
Jackie McCarthy, Assistant Vice President, Regulatory Affairs, CTIA
Daniel Meuse, Deputy Director, State Health and Value Strategies Programs, Princeton University
David Mitchell, Associate Director for Policy and Market Solutions, The Aspen Institute Financial Security Program
Stu Rothenberg, Policy Analyst
Meghan Scott, Executive Director, Coalition for Affordable Prescription Drugs (CAPD)
Michael Scott, Executive Director, National Coordinating Committee for Multiemployer Plans
Jim Scheinberg, Managing Partner, North Pier Search Consulting
Vicki Shabo, Vice President for Workplace Policies and Strategies, National Partnership for Women & Families
Christine Simmon, Senior Vice President, Policy & Strategic Alliances; Executive Director, Biosimilars Council, Association for Accessible Medicines
J. Walker Smith, Executive Chairman, Kantar Futures
Andrew Sperling, Director, Legislative and Policy Advocacy, National Alliance on Mental Illness
Topher Spiro, Vice President for Health Policy and Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Laurel Todd, Vice President of Healthcare Policy and Research, Biotechnology Innovation Organization
Ben Wakana, Executive Director, Patients for Affordable Drugs
Brian Webb, Assistant Director, Life and Health Policy and Legislation, National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Liz Weiss, Committee Director, DC Council Committee on Labor and Workforce Development
C. Grace Whiting, J.D., President and CEO, National Alliance for Caregiving